How Big is Elden Ring’s Map?

Action Bar

Share This Article?

Home  >  Games  >  Elden Ring

How Big is Elden Ring’s Map?

One of the best aspects of FromSoftware’s newest title, Elden Ring, is its large, densely-packed open world. Known as the Lands Between, this beautiful and dark fantasy world is the perfect playground for adventures and explorers. And it’s one of the best open worlds we’ve seen in years!

But just how big is the Lands Between? How does its size compare to other games in the genre? Just how many different regions does it have for you to explore? We’ll be covering all of that and then some in this article explaining Elden Ring’s map.

Without any further delays, let’s get into the walkthrough!

Looking for more Elden Ring tips and tricks? View all our Elden Ring guides.

How Big is The Map in Elden Ring?

Elden Ring: how big is the map?
Image: FromSoftware Inc., BANDAI NAMCO Entertainment via HGG / Koby Gibson Ross

According to various different sources, the entire map of the game is about 30.5 square miles, or 79 square kilometers. This is an impressive size, but it should be noted that not every part of the visible map is walkable. There are gaps of water here and there, and high cliffs that restrict movement. Regardless, this is still a sizable map.

The world is somewhat bigger than GTA V’s map. For comparison, GTA V’s open world is about 75km. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is also smaller than Elden Ring, with a map of just over 37km. There are several larger maps worth mentioning — The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt is 127 square kilometers (or 49 square miles). Just Cause 3’s map is massive, at a whopping 2,025 square kilometers (or 400 square miles)!

How Many Regions are in Elden Ring?

How Many Regions are in Elden Ring?
Image: FromSoftware Inc., BANDAI NAMCO Entertainment via HGG / Koby Gibson Ross

Throughout this large open world, you’ll find a variety of different regions to explore. These are filled with unique dungeons, NPCs, bosses, and special encounters for you to find. But just how many different regions are there in Elden Ring?

There are thirteen total regions for you to discover throughout the Lands Between, each with its own unique biome. They are as follows:

  • Limgrave
  • Weeping Peninsula
  • Caelid
  • Liurnia of The Lakes
  • Altus Plateau
  • Dragonbarrow
  • Consecrated Snowfield
  • Forbidden Lands
  • Mt. Gelmir
  • Crumbling Farum Azula
  • Mountaintops of The Giants
  • Maquelia’s Haligtree
  • Underground

In addition to these basic regions, there are also special locations that can be found outside of them. The Roundtable Hold is the most notable of these. It’s a hub area for you which is located beyond the shores of the main continent, and it can only be accessed by fast travel.

Join the High Ground

What did you think of our guide explaining Elden Ring’s map? If you still have questions for us, fire away down in the comments section! Don’t forget to subscribe to our weekly newsletter — we offer regular rankings and guides on all of your favorite games, including more of FromSoftware’s Elden Ring.

Happy gaming!

Related Reading


Continue the Adventure!

Sign up for an account at High Ground Gaming, and access all these amazing perks:

  • Custom profile page
  • Save articles to favorites
  • Rate articles
  • Post comments & engage with the community
  • Access the HGG Discord
  • Enter giveaways
This is a pre-registration form. Fill in the following details to verify your email address first. You will be able to access the full registration form and register for an account after the verification.

Join the Discussion

Give feedback on the article, share additional tips & tricks, talk strategy with other members, and make your opinions known. High Ground Gaming is a place for all voices, and we'd love to hear yours!


Forgot Password?

Join Us